Crust, Crust, Give me Crust!

7 Jan

I made a winter cobbler from the latest issue of Southern Living for New Year’s Eve.  I love a good crust.  Berry pies, chocolate pies, cobblers, and don’t get me started on chicken pot pies.  Just give it to me.  I love it.  I don’t make them that often.  They are not in my runner’s diet.  And, are not always the easiest thing to make with two kids around.  Things get in the way.  But, this was a special occasion and I wanted to try a lattice crust.  Out of all the pies, cobblers, etc., that I have made, I had never done a lattice.  This recipe called for frozen blackberries which were hard to find.  I used a frozen mixed berry bag with blueberries, blackberries and raspberries.  I used a fresh pint of blackberries and some more frozen blueberries.  I think I will try my twist on the crust next time. I love my grandmother’s crust.  This one was good, but it was missing a bit of the flakiness I love in a crust.  I did really love the layer of baked crust in between the two berry layers.  That made it extra “crusty”.  🙂

Here’s a link to the recipe:

http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/winter-blackberry-cobbler-50400000118330/

And, here’s a photo of the cobbler.  Sure makes a purty one!

 

Leave a Reply

