Everyone’s favorite red monster…

15 Dec

I made some Elmo cupcakes for our sweet little two year old friend, Layla, who loves Elmo.  These were so fun to make.  And to make them for her, even better!  She knew right away who it was when she saw the cupcakes, so that was a win in my book.

I made chocolate cupcakes with red “fur” frosting using a grass pastry tip.  I made the red buttercream a day ahead of time, because getting a good red is really hard sometimes.  It was close a salmon color when I stuck it in the fridge but by the time I set it out the next day to get to room temperature, it started getting more red.  And, when I got it in the bag to frost, and it heated up from my hands, it was just right…and without the bitter taste in the frosting that deeper colors can give you.  For once, I was patient and didn’t overdo the color and it came out perfect!  I made Elmo’s eyes and mouth out of fondant and his orange nose was a Sixlet candy.  You could use a jelly bean, an M&M, whatever orange candy you can find.  I’m sure they’d all do great.  Of course, that is, if you ever want to make Elmo cupcakes.  🙂

Here is our friend, Elmo.  Happy 2nd Birthday, L!  We love ya!

 

One Response to “Everyone’s favorite red monster…”

  1. choklitluvr December 19, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    Bet that was one very happy two-year-old! Beautiful job on your Elmos!

Leave a Reply

