Strawberry Shortcake

9 Jan

I am up with the chickens and a teething daughter this rainy and cold Sunday morning.  So, I thought I’d post about my recent cupcakes.  This weekend, I made some Strawberry Shortcake themed cupcakes for a sweet girl’s 5th birthday.  I am not quite gifted enough yet to actually draw Strawberry Shortcake herself on each of the cupcakes, but I tried to do the next best thing and put strawberries on the cupcakes.  I made the strawberries from fondant and used an edible marker to draw on the seeds.  I piped green buttercream frosting using a leaf tip for the leaves (is that what they are called on a strawberry?). The cupcake itself was a chocolate cupcake with strawberry buttercream frosting.  I know I love chocolate and strawberries together and this turned out to be a great combo.  I know this to be true, because even though I am supposed to be refraining from cupcakes, they were beckoning to me from their little container and I broke down and ate one last night.  With lots of milk.  I went on a good run yesterday, so I don’t feel too ashamed of it.  However, I am pretty sure all the calories I burned were in that cupcake.

And, now for the cuties.

One Response to “Strawberry Shortcake”

  1. Kimberly Mauro January 11, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Those look delicious! I wonder how many Weight Watcher points one of those babies are? Probably my entire daily allowance 🙂

Leave a Reply

